11+ Exam

in bucks




The secondary transfer test (eleven plus) in Buckinghamshire is set by GL assessment. Below is an outline of what content is covered in the test, and what children need to know in order to pass the test.
Test format
​Children will sit two 45-minute papers on the same day, with a short break in between, comprising of the following:
Paper 1

  • English comprehension

  • Technical English

  • Verbal reasoning

Paper 2

  • Maths

  • Non-verbal reasoning

  • Spatial reasoning

The table below will help you understand the requirements of the test, and also outline the weighting of each section.

11+ in Bucks

More information can be found on the Buckinghamshire Grammar Schools’ website: www.thebucksgrammarschools.org. You may also wish to visit GL Assessment’s own website, which contains some familiarisation materials, so you can get a sense of what the exams will contain: www.gl-assessment.co.uk